top of page

Stadium Judo Club

Public·8 members
Luke Edwards
Luke Edwards

The End by Charlie Higson: A Review of the Final Book in The Enemy Series

Charlie Higson's The End: The Final Book in The Enemy Series

If you are a fan of horror, dystopia, and zombies, you might have heard of The Enemy series by Charlie Higson. This series consists of seven books that tell the story of a group of children who survive a deadly virus that turns everyone over fourteen into mindless, flesh-eating monsters. The series is set in a post-apocalyptic London, where the kids have to fight for their lives against the grown-ups, who are also known as sickos or mothers and fathers.

charlie higson the end epub 27

Download Zip:

The End is the seventh and final book in the series, published in 2015. It wraps up the story of the survivors and their ultimate battle against the enemy. In this article, we will give you an overview of The Enemy series, a summary of The End, and some reasons why you should read this book.

What is The Enemy series?

The Enemy series is a young adult horror fiction series by Charlie Higson, a British author, comedian, and actor. He is also known for writing the Young Bond series and several adult thrillers. The Enemy series was inspired by George A. Romero's zombie films and Lord of the Flies by William Golding.

A brief summary of the plot and the setting

The series takes place in a near-future London, where a mysterious disease has infected everyone over fourteen years old. The disease causes them to lose their sanity, their intelligence, and their humanity. They become violent, cannibalistic creatures that hunt down and eat children. Some of them also develop mutations, such as extra limbs, tentacles, or wings.

The children who are left behind have to band together to survive. They form different groups based on their locations, such as the Waitrose crew, the Morrisons crew, the Tower of London crew, etc. They also have to deal with other threats, such as rival gangs, wild animals, starvation, disease, and betrayal.

The series follows the adventures of several characters from different groups as they try to find a safe place to live, a cure for the disease, or a way to escape from London. Along the way, they encounter many dangers and discover many secrets about the origin and nature of the enemy.

The main characters and their roles

The series has a large cast of characters, each with their own personality, background, and skills. Some of them are:

  • Maxie: A brave and smart girl who leads the Waitrose crew. She is one of the main protagonists of the series.

  • Arran: A kind and loyal boy who is Maxie's best friend and co-leader. He is infected by the disease in the first book.

  • Small Sam: A young and innocent boy who is separated from his group in the first book. He goes through many hardships and becomes a hero.

  • The Kid: A mysterious and powerful boy who can control the sickos with his mind. He is the key to the cure.

  • Ed: A clever and resourceful boy who leads the Morrisons crew. He is in love with Maxie and becomes her ally.

  • David: A charismatic and manipulative boy who leads the Buckingham Palace crew. He is the main antagonist of the series.

  • Ella: A sweet and brave girl who is Small Sam's sister. She joins the Tower of London crew and helps them fight the enemy.

  • Freak: A tough and sarcastic boy who is Ella's friend and protector. He has a crush on her.

  • Shadowman: A mysterious and stealthy boy who spies on the sickos and learns their secrets. He is a loner and a survivor.

  • Saint George: A huge and powerful sicko who leads a horde of thousands. He is the most dangerous enemy of the children.

The themes and messages of the series

The series explores many themes and messages, such as:

  • The loss of innocence and childhood in a harsh and cruel world.

  • The importance of friendship, loyalty, and courage in times of adversity.

  • The conflict between good and evil, and the moral ambiguity of some actions and choices.

  • The nature of humanity, and what makes us human or inhuman.

  • The effects of fear, violence, and power on people's behavior and psychology.

  • The hope for a better future, and the possibility of change and redemption.

What is The End about?

The End is the final book in the series, and it concludes the story of the survivors and their ultimate battle against the enemy. It also reveals some answers to the mysteries of the series, such as the origin of the disease, the role of the Kid, and the fate of some characters.